bruin fly logo
Home    1. Authors    2. Database    3. Methods Figure S1 - Crossing Scheme Figure S2 - FLP/FRT Verification and Excision Experiments Figure S3 - Excision Scheme BLAST Hit Determination    4. Education The Class Didactic Component Computer Component Laboratory Component Sample Syllabus Sample Midterm Sample Final    5. Manuscript    6. Class Website    7. Advanced
      Classes
   8. Instructors    9. Member Photos

LS 10H, Spring 2004

Research training in Genes, Genetics and Genomics

UCLA Undergraduate Research Consortium in Functional Genomics

(Sponsored by Howard Hughes Medical Institute)

Course Description

Lecture, 90 minutes; laboratory, six hours (scheduled) and 3 hours (unscheduled); computer laboratory, 90 minutes. Limited to 30 students. Basic training in biological research, including techniques in genetics, model organism, bioinformatics, functional genomics, electron microscopy. Part of Undergraduate Research Consortium in Functional Genomics sponsored by Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professors Program. Letter grading.

Class Time and Location

Lecture:

Monday 2-3:20PM

Lab 1A:

TR 9-11:50AM

Lab 1B:

TR 1-3:50PM

Computer section:

Friday 2-3:20PM

Lab is open M-F 9am-6pm for unscheduled laboratory work (except during lectures and scheduled classes).
Assignment and Grading
:

Midterm and Final exams will be open-book and take-home. In addition your grade will be based on computer exercises, lab effort, work sheets and the notebook.

Quizzes:

They are used to test your understandings of lecture and lab instruction materials. They will be taken during the beginning of lab sections.

Lab work sheets:

They are used to summarize the results and progress of your experiments. They also serve to check your understanding of the design of the experiments.

Lab notebook:

We will give you a bound notebook for recording your experimental data. It will be checked for the completeness and neatness of your record.

Lab effort:

Your effort will be reflected on how well you maintain the fly stocks or keep track of your crosses. The instructors and TAs will determine how well you perform in the research at the end of quarter. In addition, your results will be reflected on the lab work sheets and final report.

Computer exercises:

There is usually one computer exercise work sheet to be completed for each computer lab section.

Midterm:

You will get a taste of how to write a NIH-style proposal by completing a 4 page report (single-spaced). In this mini-proposal, you will propose a set of experiments (the ones you are currently performing).

Final:

The Final paper will summarize your work in the class. The paper will be modeled after original research articles published in the journal “Cell”.

The final grade for the course will be calculated as below:

Lab component (60%)

Work Sheet (1)

40

Notebook

100

Lab effort and lecture participation,

280

Computer exercises (5)

100

Quizzes (2)

80

Midterm and Final Paper (40%)

Midterm report

(due on May 5)

150

Final Paper

(due on June 6)

250

     

Total (100%)

 

1000 points


Week 1

Monday, Apr. 5 Lecture 1, 2-3:30 PM: Importance of research in genetics

Friday, Apr. 9

Computer Lab 1, 2-3:30 PM: Virtual Flylab

   
Week 2
Monday, Apr. 12 Lecture 2, 2-3:30 PM: Classical Genetics

Friday, Apr. 16

Computer Lab 2, 2-3:30 PM: Virtual Flylab II

   
Week 3
Monday, Apr. 19 Lecture 3, 2-3:30 PM: How to think like a geneticist

Thursday, Apr. 22

Quiz#1 during lab section

Friday, Apr. 23

Computer Lab 3, 2-3:30 PM: FlyBase Searches & Locating Transposon sites

   
Week 4  
Monday, Apr. 26 Lecture 4, 2-3:30 PM: Clonal Analysis & FLP/FRT system

Friday, Apr. 30

Computer Lab 4, 2-3:30 PM: Protein Blast searches

   
Week 5  
Monday, May 3 Lecture 5, 2-3:30 PM: Drosophila eye development and genetics

Thursday, May 6

Quiz#2 during lab section

Friday, May 7

Computer Lab 5, 2-3:30 PM: TBA

   
Week 6
Monday, May 10 Lecture 6 , 2-3:30 PM: Research Ethics

Tuesday May 11

Midterm Report Due

Friday, May 14

No Computer Lab

   
Week 7
Monday, May 17 Lecture 7, 2-3:30 PM: Research Career Paths

Friday, May 21

No Computer Lab

   
Week 8
Monday, May 24 Lecture 8, 2-3:30 PM: Research Talk

Friday, May 28

No Computer Lab

   
Week 9
Monday, May 31

Memorial Day Holiday

Friday, June 4

No Computer lab

   
Week 10
Monday, June 7 Lecture 9, 2-3:30 PM: From genetics to genomics and biotechnology

Friday, June 11

Final Paper Due; no Computer Lab